

# Walthamstow Cricket, Tennis and Squash Club Founded 1862

48a Greenway Avenue Walthamstow London E17 3QN T: 02085204701 E: info@wctsc.org.uk www.wctsc.org.uk

# **2022 Annual General Meeting**

# Wednesday 15<sup>th</sup> February 2023 - 8PM

Clubhouse – 48a Greenway Avenue Walthamstow London E17 3QN

### Agenda

- 1. Notice of meeting
- 2. Apologises for absence
- 3. Minutes of previous AGM
- 4. Matters arising from previous minutes
- 5. Chairman's report
- 6. To vote on the proposal not to audit the accounts (in accordance with the Cooperative and Community Benefits Societies Act 2014).
- 7. To receive the accounts for the years ending 31st March 2020 and 31st March 2021
- 8. Ratification of senior officers and election of the Management Committee
- 9. To vote on Proposal 1 Sectional Membership.
- 10. To vote on Proposal 2 AGM Minutes.
- 10. To vote on Proposal 3 Management Committee Structure.
- 10. To vote on Proposal 4 Amendment to Constitution to remove 'B' Shareholders.
- 11. Any other business.

## **Senior Officers (for ratification)**

Nominated by the Management Committee

Robert McKill – President Nigel Kleinfeld – Chairman Don Brereton – Treasurer Matthew Guest – Secretary

## Proposal 1 - Sectional Membership

It is proposed by Dean Parkin and seconded by Matthew Guest: -

From the 01 April 2023 that the wording set out on line 4 of rule 6A of the constitution, "playing members may belong to one or more of these sections" be interpreted as follows: -

Any fully paid playing member with a regular active participating interest in either or both other playing section is entitled to apply to the membership secretary of either or both other playing sections to become a member of that section.

Any such application is not to be unreasonably denied.

In the event of a dispute the member whose application has been denied has the right to appeal in writing, setting out the reasons for the appeal, to the Club Secretary within 14 days of receipt of the denial. The Club Secretary will bring the matter to the next Management Committee meeting and will advise the appellant of the decision of the Management Committee within 10 days of said meeting.

# Proposal 2 – AGM Minutes

It is proposed by Nigel Kleinfeld and seconded by Matthew Guest: -

For this AGM and any future AGM it is incumbent upon the Club Secretary, on behalf of the Management Committee, to publish the minutes of said meetings no later than 60 days after the meeting is held.

# <u>Proposal 3 – Management Committee Structure</u>

It is proposed by Neil Barrie and seconded by Gary O'Reilly: -

It is **proposed** that Section 10 paragraph A be updated as follows:-

## Section 10, paragraph A

- · The Club shall have the following Officers:-
- · President Elected for 3 years
- · Chairman Elected annually with no maximum term of office
- General Secretary Elected annually with no maximum term of office
- Treasurer Elected annually with no maximum term of office

AND a management Committee which shall consist of the beforementioned Officers and not more than eighteen other members of the Club. The eighteen members shall consist of four elected nominees from each of the four sections of Cricket, Tennis, Squash and Social and up to two nominees from the Vice Presidents.

## Proposal 4 – Amendment to Constitution to remove 'B' Shareholders

It is proposed by Ray Sefton and seconded by Louis Bertuzzo: -

To abolish the class of Ordinary shares of 5p and to restrict club shareholders to club members only. To enable this, the constitution needs to be amended as follows:

### Para 5B

To read: 'Every member shall hold one 'A' Ordinary Share.'

### Para 7A

Replace whole para with one sentence to read: 'Each member shall hold one 'A' Ordinary Share of 5p which is not transferable or withdrawable and which shall be forfeited on cessation of membership for whatever cause.'

#### Para 7B

Delete clause (b) and reletter subsequent clauses.

#### Para 7C and Para 7D

Delete both paragraphs